Events

July Newsletter Article

100_0841This past month the youth ministry took a Camp trip to Myrtle Beach.  Now the question can be asked, “why go all the way to South Carolina for a camp?, Is there not a closer camp?”  Well, that is a good question, but the answer is that we go to this camp because its foundation is on scripture.  Growing up in the Bible Belt South, we have a term for the post-camp experience; we call it a camp high.  This occurs when you go to camp and experience really exciting music and a motivational speaker that causes you to be excited about going out and sharing Jesus with everyone.  However, when you return, the “high” soon wears off and you go back to life as normal.

That is why we chose this camp, because its foundation is on scripture, and only God’s Word can bring about change that lasts.  During our camp time, we experienced great music that much of which came from straight from scripture, fantastic expository preaching from David Platt, and our Bible Studies covered the timeline of redemptive history (Creation, Fall, Redemption, and Consummation).

However, instead of me continuing to tell you all how much it changed the lives of these youth, I have decided for the rest of this article for you to hear straight from their testimonies that they shared with us during the Youth Share Night.

MKMary Kate: “What changed my life the most was the quote, “Trade in your human desires for someone, something greater.  And, trust me, not only will God fulfill your desires, He will give you so much more.””

APAlyssa: “I am the Alpha and the Omega, says the Lord God, who is, and who was, and who is to come.  This is so true and Jesus has revealed this to me.  Throughout the week at camp, I felt God like nothing before.  In one of the songs they sang there it says, “ O praise the one who paid my debt and raised this life up from the dead.”  Which is what we did, we praised him in all of his grace and glory.  I was shown what it means to be in the kingdom of God and how important it is to share the Gospel and share his love.  So I want to thank you all for supporting us in this beautiful journey with our savior and I specifically want to thank Joe and Kaley for listening, supporting, and helping me through this journey.

God Bless.”

CWCheyenne: “As you all know we took a trip to Myrtle Beach in South Carolina.  Down there we went to an all week conference. The Theme of the week was “The Kingdom”.   David Platt, who is a big time Preacher was there as well as Kristen Stanfill who is from one of the groups associated with Passion Conferences.  This experience to go not only let me meet new people, but led me to understand the Bible more.  David Platt and the music played by Kristen Stanfill really inspired me to really try more and it got me closer to God.”

HWHannah: “During camp, I made a huge decision that changed my life forever.  I gave my  life to Jesus, and I could never be more excited to see what God has in store for me in the future.  Thank you, Jesus, and also to Joe and Kaley Gunter, for their support this week.  God is Great!”

Standard

Leave a Reply

